Vegan MoFo 9: Baklava cupcakes

Do you feel like eating a baklava but don’t want to knead the phyllo dough or don’t have a frozen phyllo in your fridge? No worries, you can turn the baklava into a cupcake. Here the recipe!

baklava cupcake

Ingredients (makes 10 cupcakes)

For the batter
1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon powder
8 cloves powdered
5 cardamoms powdered
3/4 cup soy milk at room temperature
1/2 cup soy butter at room temperature
1 cup minced unsalted nuts (pistachio, walnut and almond)
orange zest

For the glaze
1 cup water
1 cup sugar
1 cup minced unsalted nuts (pistachio, walnut and almond)
2 tbsp orange juice
1 tbsp rose water
1 stick cinnamon
1 cm ginger
orange zest

Preheat the oven to 180°.

For the batter whisk in a bowl soy butter and sugar, then pour soy milk and keep whisking until combined. In another bowl measure out flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves and cardamom. Add dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until smooth. Add nuts and orange zest. Scoop the batter into cupcake pans and transfer to the oven. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool completely.

For the glaze put in a pan water, sugar, nuts, orange juice, rose water, stick cinnamon, ginger, orange zest and bring to a boil. Simmer for about 30 minutes until reduct to about 1/3.

Spread the glaze on the top of each cupcake and serve.

26 comments
  1. narf77 said:

    I don’t know what to say…I am speechless…you just made my whole life complete in one little recipe. I need to bake these… get a HUGE cup of tea… hide in the wardrobe and systematically consume them till they are all gone. Then I need to make a nest out of all of the clothing that no longer fits me and hibernate for the summer. Who wants to be like everyone else and hibernate for the winter eh? Cheers for these little morsels of gorgeousness in a paper case. I think I owe you my first born son for these babies…he comes complete with a degree in accounting. Be kind to him, he is good to his mother…

  2. Lindsay said:

    I thought I loved you before, but this is taking it over the top. Baklava cupcakes? YES.

  3. These look WONDERFUL! You are so incredibly creative with your cupcakes, I’ve loved every recipe so far. Baklava is probably one of my favourite desserts. The idea of eating it in cupcake form? Genius!

    • Laura, thanks. Baklava is one of my favorite dessert too and the cupcake version was a good idea.
      I cannot take your berry pavlova off my mind!

  4. Kelli said:

    Wow ~ amazing. Where are you getting the inspiration for all of these fantastic creations? 🙂

    • Kelli, I really don’t know. These weeks I wake up thinking about cupcakes and go to sleep keep thinking about cupcakes. Last night I even dreamt about them, luckly I’ve always a notebook nearby my bed! 🙂
      I’m so glad you like my recipes!

  5. Ally said:

    Wow! These look amazing. I’m sure they are delicious too. 🙂

  6. Marisa said:

    you are beyond awesome. every post of yours has me in awe!!

  7. Mihl said:

    I have no idea why, but I have always been to lazy to make baklava. I always thought it was complicated. Your cupcakes look so easy to make and absolutely gorgeous!

    • I thought exactly the same. I tried to prepare the phyllo dough when I used to live in Berlin and it was a disaster! The cupcake version is certainly easier!

  8. YUM. Not that baklava ever needed any perfecting or modification, but these cupcakes look pretty amazingly perfect, too. I am definitely bookmarking this recipe.

Leave a Reply

