Vegan MoFo 5: Mango curd filled cupcakes with coconut and passion fruit frosting

Here in Lisbon is still summer with more than 30 degrees and baking cupcakes everyday is not so pleasant. The kitchen looks like the hell!

This summer recipe is slightly sweet, but the passion fruits gives the proper sour touch and at the same time enhaches the flavour of the mango curd.

 Next MoFo I’ll choose another subject, popsicles could be a better idea!

mango curd filled cupcakes with coconut and passion fruit frosting
Ingredients (makes 10 cupcakes)

For the batter
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
3/4 granulated sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup rice milk at room temperature
1/3 cup canola oil

For the frosting
1 cup soy cream at room temperature (I used Tofutti)
1 can full fat coconut milk (for the recipe we use 1/3 cup coconut milk fat)
1/3 cup confectioners sugar

For the mango curd
1 ripe mango or canned mango
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tbsp coconut milk
2 tbsp lemon juice

For the decoration
5 passion fruits

Start by refrigerating overnight the can of coconut milk. This procedure allows to separate the fat from the liquid.

Preheat the oven to 180°.

For the batter whisk in a bowl rice milk and canola oil. In another bowl measure out flour, caster sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until smooth. Scoop the batter into cupcake pans, transfer to the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool completely.

For the mango curd blend mango until smooth. In a bowl whisk cornstarch, coconut milk and lemon juice. Pour mango in a pan a bring to a boil. Add the mixture, reduce the heat and gently stir until thickened. Remove the pan from the heat and let it cool completely.

For the frosting scoop the coconut milk fat on the top of the can and beat with confectioners sugar. Add soy cream and beat again until fluffy.

Cut a cone shape out of each cupcake and cut the point off the cone. Fill the hole with the mango curd and replace the top. Spread the frosting on the top of each cupcake and garnish with passion fruits.

16 comments
  1. I nearly booked for Lisbon for the winter 2014, but it didn’t work out with the airline connections and the whole mileage system. Here in Spain, it is nearly 30 degrees, but Lisbon sounds lovelier. These mango curd filled cupcakes sound amazing, especially with the passionfruit frosting! I like your idea of popsicles cupcakes! Look forward to checking that out!

    • I’m sorry that your booking did’nt work, but I’m pretty sure you’ll find the time to visit Portugal. It’s an incredible country, indeed!.
      No popsicle cupcakes, I should attend a molecular kitchen class before 🙂

  2. Mihl said:

    I think I’d give an arm and a leg right now to be in Lisbon eating cupcakes.

  3. narf77 said:

    Yeah…I’m going there…I’m going there in the very near future and it’s not going to be pretty and they are probably going to all be eaten by me but whatchagonnadoeh?

  4. Sophie33 said:

    You are certainly on a cupcake high, you little culinary devil! 😉 Georgous tasty creations too! X

  5. Kelli said:

    Oh. my. goodness. I think this is your best yet ~ mango and passion fruit with vegan cream cheese? That is the most incredible combination. I can’t wait to make these! I was only in Lisbon once, many years ago, but I loved Portugal (the Algarve was incredible!)… and it was early spring so was perfection 🙂

    • You are right, Kelli. Algarve is an incredible place. I only went once to Tavira, but I’d like to visit Alentejo as soon as possible. Maybe in October that it’s not too hot.
      Thank you, for your comment! 🙂

  6. India said:

    ha! sorry to hear you are sweltering! It is damp and cool in the UK, I’ll blow some of it your way! Your cupcakes look amazing, as I am to expect from you. It is so weird, I was thinking of mango cream/custard last night. I think Vegan MoFo is connecting us all telepathically! ha ha.

  7. Ally said:

    Spectacular!
    What a delicious combination.
    I hope the heat isn’t causing you too much trouble.
    If narf7 gets there before me, grab one of those cupcakes from her clutches and save it for me, please. 😉

  8. I think this is my perfect cupcake, mango and coconut together are a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

