Vegan MoFo 3: Double chocolate stout beer cupcakes with whisky frosting

I come back with a sweet decadent cupcake. I wanted to make the chocolate Guinness beer cake since I’ve seen the recipe in the web a few years ago and today I decided to turn it into a cupcake with a chocolate filling. The result is not too sweet because of the dark chocolate melted inside and the smoked Scottish whisky I’ve choosen for the frosting.

In my opinion this is the best cupcake I’ve ever made. It’s easy, decadent and all the flavours are perfectly balanced. Next time a new savory cupcake, so stay tuned!

Edit. Some bloggers informed me that Guinness is not vegan anymore. I changed the title of the recipe replacing Guinness with a general stout beer. If you have any suggestion about your favorite vegan stout beer, please leave a message.

double chocolate guinness cupcakes with whisky frosting

Ingredients (makes 10 cupcakes)

For the batter
1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
3/4 granulated sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup stout beer at room temperature
1/3 cup canola oil

For the frosting
1 cup soy cream at room temperature (I used Tofutti)
1/3 cup confectioners sugar
2 tbsp whisky (I used Laphroaig)

For the filling
chocolate bar 70%

For the decoration
cocoa powder

Preheat the oven to 180°.

Start by preparing the batter. Whisk in a bowl stout beer and canola oil. In another bowl measure out flour, cocoa powder, caster sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
Add dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until smooth. Scoop the batter into cupcake pans and transfer to the oven. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool completely.

For the filling melt chocolate bar over a bain marie and let it cool.

For the frosting beat soy cream, confectioners sugar and whisky until fluffy.

Cut a cone shape out of each cupcake and cut the point off the cone. Fill the hole with the filling and replace the top. Spread the frosting on the top of each cupcake and sprinkle cocoa powder.

45 comments
  1. I love chocolate beer cakes! I usally make chocolate beer cakes for peoples birthdays if they like chocolate- with a chocolate beer ganache and roasted hazelnuts, your cupcakes look amazibg by the way!

  2. I would love to see an Oregonian beer in this recipe! Awesome idea!

  3. kitwocky said:

    Wow. All I can say is wow. That, and I can’t wait to try this myself! Thanks.

  4. Poppy said:

    As far as I know Guinness isn’t vegan? I think the Extra Stout version is in the US but not the regular.. hope you don’t mind me saying!:D

      • Poppy said:

        Thanks for the link Jackie, I wasn’t sure about the Extra Stout as there was a lot of conflicting info when I searched. I’m in the UK so steer clear of it regardless. Thank you for clarifying that 😀

    • Thank you very much for the precious advise! I didn’t know Guinness is not vegan friendly anymore. I retitled the recipe in order to avoid other vegan people buy it unconsciously.

  5. Marisa said:

    I am so making these!

  6. Another great creation! Not sure which one to try first, this or the green tea one! I’ll let you know who wins as soon as I get on it. 😉

  7. Sophie33 said:

    Waw! The chocolate Guiness beer cupcakes look amazing & that frosting is calling my mouth too!,…:) Yummmm!

  8. Helen said:

    Yum! I love the idea of a smokey Laphroig frosting… mmmm…

  9. Whiskey AND beer together sounds like a pretty amazing combination, but in a CUPCAKE? Now that’s my idea of heaven.
    PS. Really love your blog.

  10. India said:

    Wow. you are a genius! Ireland may just make you a Saint because of this cupcake.

  11. Mihl said:

    Oh, how wonderful! I hate, hate, hate the fact that Guiness isn’t vegan. That was one of the foods ahem drinks hardest to give up after going vegan. Maybe these work with something like dark Czech beer, too?

    • I hate either that guinness is not vegan. I’m going to try with Czech beers, that in my opinion are the best! Thank you for the suggestion.

  12. Chocolate and stout beer is one of my favorite combos. If you can get it in Italy (I think that’s where you are) the Young’s Double Chocolate Stout is a great vegan stout.

  13. I’m italian, but at the moment I live in Lisbon. Young’s Double Chocolate Stout? It does sound good, I only hope to find it out.
    Thanks a lot for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

