Vegan MoFo 1: Azuki beans paste filled cupcakes with green tea and caramel frosting

I start my first Vegan MoFo with these cupcakes. The idea was born last year while I was eating with a friend in a Japanese restaurant in Berlin. After the meal we had two desserts each of a a kind green tea panna cotta topped with azuki beans and caramel. I was thinking about repoducing it at home, but I suddenly changed my mind and turned it into a cupcake. The recipe was almoust ready, but in my opinion too sweet. For this reason I opted for the azuki beans paste as filling. Its flavour is almoust sugarless and balances the sweet frosting.

azuki beans paste filled cupcakes with green tea and caramel frosting
Ingredients (makes 10 cupcakes)

For the batter
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
3/4 granulated sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup soy milk at room temperature
1/3 cup canola oil

For the green tea frosting
1 cup soy butter at room temperature
2 1/2 cup confectioners sugar
2 tsp green tea powder
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tbsp soy milk at room temperature

For the azuki beans paste
1/2 cup dry azuki beans
1 tbsp agave syrup
pinch of salt
water

For the caramel
1/2 cup brown sugar

Start by preparing the azuki beans paste. Soak dry beans overnight, then boil for 1 ½ hours until soft. Drain and reserve a few beans to garnish the cupcakes.
Purée the beans with a blender and stir into agave syrup. Add cooking water if the paste is too thick. Allow to cool completely and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 180°.

For the batter whisk in a bowl soy milk and canola oil. In another bowl measure out flour, caster sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until smooth. Scoop the batter into cupcake pans, transfer to the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool completely.

For the frosting beat soy butter, confectioners sugar, green tea powder and cornstarch for a couple of minutes. Add soy milk and keep beating until fluffy.

Cut a cone shape out of each cupcake and cut the point off the cone Fill the hole with the azuki beans paste and replace the top. Place the frosting in a pastry bag fitted with a star and pipe on the top of each cupcake.

For the caramel warm a pan over a medium heat for a few seconds, then pour sugar in. Leave the sugar until it begins to melt. Stir gently with a spatula and cook until the colour becames dark amber.
Pour the caramel on the frosting and garnish with azuki beans.

34 comments
  1. The cupcakes are beautiful, really so creative, that frosting sounds delicious.

  2. Welcome to Vegan MoFo and of course, happy Vegan MoFo Day 1! I didn’t know you made cupcakes for the first VeganMoFo plus I miss Berlin, too! I ❤ Azuki bean paste (red bean paste), soooooo good in bao and loads of Asian desserts. Beautiful cupcakes, thanks for the awesome Asian twist!

  3. Happy Vegan MoFo! Oh my gosh..those cupcakes. Can a girl fall in love with a baked good upon first sight?!! I think she can!!
    India
    http://www.aveganobsession.com
    following you now. can’t wait to see what you produce for the rest of the month.

    • I’m going to post only cupcakes this month… I hope to have enough ideas!
      Thank you for stopping by, I really enjoyed your work as well.
      Happy MoFo!

  4. Love the azuki bean idea. Have you checked out Kathy Hester’s books? She’s the bean queen!

  5. Lindsay said:

    Oh I love the idea of using the azuki beans here — can’t wait to try these (I think I might try my hand at de-glutenizing them)

  6. Mihl said:

    This looks amazing! I have some matcha left somewhere in my kitchen. These are on my “make after mofo is over” list! I’m gald I found your blog, btw. It is great.

    • Thank you, I follow your blog since a couple of years and it’s such inspiring!
      Yes, after MoFo our lists are going to be full of recipes to try out.! 🙂

  7. Maria said:

    wowww, how creative! they look fantastic and i bet they taste too 😉

  8. Happy MoFo! These look just darling, I’m loving your flavour combinations… plus the beautiful photo, what a great post! now I just need a special occasion to pop up so I can make these delicious sounding ‘sometimes’ foods. x

  9. Hi, this recipe looks delicious! I like azuki bean paste (cubed) and a cup of green tea.

  10. These cupcakes are absolutely amazing. Aside from being delicious, I’m sure, the colors are work of art! Wow!

  11. Stefanie said:

    I shared this recipe and your photo on my blog for my MoFo links round-up day, I hope you don’t mind. This is such a creative take on cupcakes, and given that red bean ice cream used to be one of my favorite treats, I am thinking you may have just won the Vegan Dessert Replacement Award 🙂

  12. These sound amazing!!!! I’m going to try them asap and share the link to this recipe on my page – facebook.com/aveganablefeast.com too! Thanks for being creative! 🙂

    • Try it and let me know if you like it. I’ve just posted another sweet cupcakes recipe, have a look!
      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

  13. Crazyamazing…you are so yumfully creative!
    I’ve only just found you (through Vegan Richa) so I’m off to explore the rest of your blog. Cheers!

  14. I grew up on green tea and azuki beans, I miss these flavours so much! Thank-you for sharing such a delicious recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

