Carrot and Mango soup with lime ice cube

I am totally obsessed with soups and everything that can be pureed. This recipe is perfect in the summertime because you should prepare it in advance, refrigerate and eat when you want at room temperature. You could choose to serve this soup with an ice cube as I usually do. The ice cube melts while eating and allows you to enjoy the echoes of lime and ginger.

Ingredients (serves two)

For the soup
4 carrots
1/2 mango
1 unseeds red chili pepper
1 onion
¼ red chili powder (if necessary)
vegetable stock (1 large onion, 1 carrot, 1 stalk of celery)
salt
extra-virgin olive oil

For the lime ice cube
1 lime
½ cm ginger finely minced

Start by preparing the lime ice cube. Squeeze the lime and pour its juice with ginger finely minced into an ice cube tray. Freeze for at least 1 hour.

Chop carrots, mango and unseeds red chili pepper into little pieces. Slice onion finely, heat extra-virgin olive oil in a saucepan and cook the slices gently for 5 minutes. Add carrots, mango, red chili pepper and red chili powder. Cover totally with vegetable stock and bring it to a boil. Simmer for 40 minutes, until carrots are tender. Puree soup in a blender and allow it to cool.

Serve it at room temperature with lime ice cube. Top with red chili pepper, chives and a few drops of extra-virgin oilve oil.

11 comments
  1. Anna said:

    This looks so tasty. Your photos are really nice as well 🙂

  2. Sara said:

    Favolosa l’idea dei cubetti di ghiaccio aromatici…da provare assolutamente!

  3. I guess what Sara said is really close to what I think: The ice cube idea awesome! It makes perfect sense, since the volatile nuances of ginger and lime are lost when heated. I suspect that how cold affects our taste buds also plays a role here. Again, awesome. Great photography, too. Good lighting and contrasting colors are really appealing.

  4. This soup sounds wonderful! I love the idea of the lime ice cube… I’ve never really eaten cold soups before, other than borscht. Will be trying this as soon as the summer weather hits again (it’s moving into winter here at the moment and I’m currently wrapped in a blanket! Your photos take me straight into summer mode)

    • I moved to Lisbon two weeks ago and I can say that here the summer has already come.
      I’m addicted to soups that I could eat them everyday, both warm and cold!!
      You anticipated my next recipe. I’ll publish the Polish version of the borscht as soon as I got a new camera.

  5. Lime ice cube with ginger is true genius! Will definitely be trying them soon. Love your sophisticated photography! 🙂

    • Thank you very much for your lovely comment, Priya. Ice cubes are versatile, can be made with whatever you want and use in any cold soup. Let me know if you try it 🙂

  6. What a wonderful idea- I bet this ice cube idea would also be delicious in gazpacho soups and other cold soups, almost like a cold pistou!

Leave a Reply

