Last night a bagel saved my life

I’m a big fan of bagels since I saw them for the first time in a picture. Yesterday I planned to cook a specific dish but I missed some essential ingredients. It was holiday in Berlin and all the markets were closed. I looked at my fridge and there was a little lonely block of fresh yeast, then I thought: bagels! I suddenly turned on my new oven and started kneading. Following the recipe of Marc Grossman in “Bagels comme à New York” I’ve got the perfect one.
I simply ate them with tofu cream and veggie but I’m thinking about possible new versions…

Ingredients (5 bagels)

For the bagels
375 gr Manitoba flour
12 gr fresh yeast
2 tsp salt
1 pinch of cornstarch
190 ml warm water
15 ml extra-virgin olive oil
2 tbsp agave sirup
black and white sesam seeds to garnish

For the poaching liquid
2 l water
1 tbsp cornstarch
1 tbsp agave sirup
1 tbs salt

In a bowl whisk together the Manitoba flour, salt and cornstarch. In another bowl melt the fresh yeast into warm water and then add extra-virgin olive oil and agave sirup.
Add dry ingredients to the wet and start mixing. Knead the dough for 10 minutes, until smooth and elastic. Cut it into 5 pieces. Roll each piece into a sneak about 25 cm long. Form into a circle around your fingers, overlapping ends and pinch firmly to seal.
Place the bagels in a pan between two oiled parchment paper sheets and allow to reise in a warm place for two hours.

Preheat the oven to 220°.

Bring a pot of water to a boil and add the cornstarch, agave sirup and salt. When the pot is boiling drop the bagels one at a time and let them cook for a minute. Using a spatula turn them upside down, cook another 30 seconds and place them onto a pan. Brush each bagel with extra-virgin olive oil and garnish with black and white sesam seeds.
Reduce the heat to 200° and bake for 20 minutes. Remove the pan, wait a couple of minutes and fill your bagels with whatever you want.

6 comments
  1. Beatrix said:

    La perfezione fatta a bagel, è perfetto!!
    E ora.. ti sfido a farmi qualche ricetta per l’intolleranza ai lieviti!

  2. Looks good! By the way, what is Manitoba flour, where can I find it, and can I substitute?

    • Manitoba is a Canadian flour that, mixed with water, produces a very high quantity of gluten. For this reason it’s particularly recommended for rising phase pastries like bread, pizza and focaccia. I don’t know where you live, so I can help you to find it if you are through Europe.
      Anyway, you can easily substitute it with every kind of strong or extra strong bread flour. It will turn out as well!

      • oh, ok. Might try some bread flour + some vital wheat gluten – to give it some strength. thanks for the response! and the bagels look de-lish.

Leave a Reply

