Brownies with figs and Macadamia nuts

These weeks I have been surrounded by brownies. Firstly I saw them on il cucchiaio di legno and that recipe inspired mine. Last week a colleague took me a slice of her brownie and gave me a pack of serviettes as well. Thank you, Beatrice.
Below my version with figs and Macadamia nuts.

Ingredients

For the brownies
120 gr all purpose flour
50 gr cocoa powder
1 tbsp ground coffee
1 tsp baking powder
pinch salt
1 tbsp cornstarch
80 ml canola oil
3 figs flesh
125 ml soymilk
60 ml orange juice
125 ml agave syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
100 gr Macadamia nuts

For the glaze
100 gr semisweet chocolate
60 ml soymilk

Preheat the oven to 180°.

Measure out the flour, cocoa, baking powder, coffee, salt and cornstarch into a bowl. Whisk together.
Blend the figs flesh with the orange juice and add this mixture to the canola oil, soymilk, agave syrup and vanilla extract in an other bowl. Stir well.
Add dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until mixed. Scoop the batter into a pan and transfer to the oven. Bake for 20-25 minuts. Remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool completely.

Prepare the glaze chopping the chocolate thinly. Set them with milk over a bain marie. Stir until the mixture is smooth and drizzle it over the brownies. Refrigerate until the topping is firm. Slice up the brownies in pieces and serve.

25 comments
  1. Beatrix said:

    Aaaaaw that must be delicious! And the picture is lovely! You definetely have to bring some at the office!

  2. simona said:

    wikipedia mi ha spiegato cos è la Macademia!

  3. Sara said:

    ciao! che bello il tuo blog, da oggi ti seguirò con attenzione, e soprattutto devo assolutamente provare questi brownies! complimenti per le splendide ricette!

  4. Those look rich and yummy!! Will have to try them! Celeste 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on Honk If You're Vegan and commented:
    I’ve been going overboard with goodies lately, so I’m staying away from sugar for a while. I saw these brownies, however; and they called out to me. I resisted the temptation, but I thought I’d share this post so that someone else can enjoy them.

  6. Just made these. I had to convert grams and ml into cups and oz but forgot to change Celsius to Fahrenheit for the oven setting! haha eventually I got it right and they are delicious 🙂

  7. They look to die for. I have been working on the vegan brownie. It’s not an easy one! Might give your recipe a go 🙂

  8. Sophie33 said:

    MMMMM! Celeste reblogged this tasty post! I have fresh figs from my garden that I can use in here! Thanks again! 🙂
    MMMMMMMM!

      • Sophie33 said:

        😉 I made them 2 already & loved every bite of them, my mom, dad & husband agreed with me! 🙂 Yeah! x

Leave a Reply

