Vegan MoFo 2: Eggplant Parmigiana cupcakes

With this recipe my project for this Vegan MoFo has became clear:
GMC (Genetically Modified Cupcakes).

I began with the azuki bean paste filled cupcakes with green tea and caramel frosting. This is the time for one of my favorite Italian dishes ever, eggplant parmigiana, to turn into a cupcake.

You can serve it as an appetizer or as an alternative for your sandwich time, I do suggest to warm the sauce a bit and fill the cupcakes before serving, otherwise the cake would get wet.

eggplant parmigiana cupcakes

Ingredients (makes 10 cupcakes)

For the batter
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup soy milk at room temperature
1/3 cup canola oil

For the frosting
1 cup soy cream at room temperature (I used Tofutti)
1/3 cup cashew nuts
2 tbsp soy milk at room temperature
basil leaves minced

For the eggplant sauce
1 eggplant
5 tomatoes or canned tomatoes
1 garlic clove
basil leaves
extra-virgin olive oil
pinch of salt

For the decoration
10 thin slices of eggplant
canola oil to fry
basil leaves minced
cashew nuts minced and toasted
black pepper

Start by soaking cashew nuts overnight, drain the next day and blitz in the blender with soy milk until creamy.

For the eggplant sauce, if you are using fresh tomatoes, slice the skin and put them into hot water for a few seconds. This procedure allow the skin to come off easily. Peel, extract and discard the seeds and cube.
Wash eggplant and cut into little cubes. Heat extra-virgin olive oil in a pan, add the garlic and gently sizzle for a couple of minutes. Add eggplant cubes and sauté until golden colored. Pour tomato cubes or canned tomatoes, pinch of salt, sugar and cook with a saucepan lid for 10 minutes. Take off the lid and reduce the sauce. Turn off the heat, add some basil leaves and let it rest.

Preheat the oven to 180°.

For the batter whisk in a bowl soy milk and canola oil. In another bowl measure out flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until smooth. Scoop the batter into cupcake pans and transfer to the oven. Bake for 20-25 minutes, remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool completely.

For the decoration deep-fry eggplant slices and dry.

Cut a cone shape out of each cupcake and cut the point off the cone. Fill the hole with the eggplant sauce and replace the top.
I suggest to warm the sauce a bit and fill the cupcakes before serving, otherwise the cake would get wet.
Spread the frosting on the top of each cupcake. Garnish with a slice of fried eggplant and sprinkle cashew nuts toasted, fresh black pepper and basil leaves minced.

53 comments
  1. Mandee said:

    Wow, these look amazing and sound so uniquely flavoured!

    • I’m glad you like my posts and thank you for nominating me for a Liebster Award. I’ll try to answer the questions, even if this month I want to post 20 cupcakes recipes for Vegan MoFo.
      I hope you’ll get your goal in speaking Mandarin fluently!

      • TheZingR said:

        You’re very kind. :) No rush, don’t let this distract from the cupcake mission!

  2. Wow, what an interesting idea. They look amazing and I’d totally eat a couple!

    • Thank you! I usually follow you on blogspot and do like your trip stories. When I moved to Berlin I had followed up your suggestion and found out interesting places where to eat!

  3. Whoa! That’s so creative, I never would have thought of savoury cupcakes. Would love to try one of these!

  4. Jen said:

    What a great idea!

  5. Mihl said:

    That is such a wonderful idea! I love eggplant parmigiana too!

  6. Galen said:

    What a creative idea. My eyes are popping out of my head right now. Ahmazing!

  7. kendy said:

    really cool idea! i love eggplant!

  8. Richa said:

    no kidding.. this is such a cool idea. they look fabulous!

  9. I can’t get enough of your recipes. I wish there was a LOVE button.

  10. These cupcakes are gorgeous! And I’ve never seen a savory cupcake like this, can’t wait to try it!

  11. creativespin said:

    Wow–I love that this is so unique and weird! Looking forward to reading more weirdness as September progresses!

  12. What a clever recipe…I love your savory twist on these adorable cupcakes!

  13. Lindsay said:

    Um, WOW. I never would have thought of savoury cupcakes, let alone vegan Eggplant Parm cupcakes! Thanks for the inspiration!

  14. shanbogen said:

    That’s so clever! It would be a great finger food for a party!

  15. Dot Schaal said:

    How original and creative! Thanks…….must try these!

  16. Sophie33 said:

    I think you are a vegan culinary genious! What great taste combinations here! Yummmm!

  17. Beth and the Biscuit said:

    Thanks so much for this inspirational recipe! I’m celebrating eggplant today and have shared your photo and recipe on our blog. http://wp.me/p3dRy6-2r cheers!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

